President Trump

The court battle against President Trump’s national emergency declaration has started. Sixteen states filed a lawsuit against the declaration in federal court in the Northern District of California.

Attorneys general from Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon and Virginia joined California in the legal action.

The President declared a national emergency last week on the US-Mexico border in an attempt to build a border wall even though he failed to secure funding for it in Congress. Critics call it an unconstitutional end run around the legislative branch.