Wizkid, Tems Win Big At 2023 NAACP Awards

Two Nigerian superstars, Tems and Wizkid, were among the first winners of the 2023 National Association for the Advancement of Coloured People (NAACP) Awards.

Africa Today News, New York reports that Tems won the Outstanding International Song category for ‘No Woman No Cry,’ which is one of the theme songs of Black Panther Wakanda Forever.

On the other hand, Wizkid secured the Outstanding Collaboration (Contemporary) category for his feature on Chris Brown’s ‘Call Me Everyday.’

The 54th edition of the NAACP annual ceremony, which was held virtually to celebrate black excellence in art and entertainment, announced its winners on Monday night.

Read Also: South African Rapper AKA Shot Dead By Gunmen

The Afrobeat stars also, in 2022, clinched the NAACP Image Awards for their collaboration in ‘Essence,’ a track from the Made in Lagos album.

In another report, popular Pop queen Beyonce last night reigned supreme at the Grammys, smashing the all-time record for wins with her 32nd prize and fourth of the night to resounding applause.

The 41-year-old had also entered the day with the most chances at Grammy gold with nine, following the release of ‘Renaissance,’ her rich, layered ode to club music.
Africa Today News, New York recalls that the clinched the title by winning the Grammy for Best Dance/Electronic Music Album for her smash ‘Renaissance,’ thus surpassing the late classical conductor Georg Solti, who had 31 awards.’I’m trying not to be too emotional. And I’m trying to just receive this night,’ Queen Bey said, wearing a shimmering, curve-hugging gown, her hair in mermaid waves as her peers witnessed the history-making moment.While receiving the award, Beyonce thanked her family, and paid special tribute to the queer community, who she credited with inventing the genre she celebrated in her historically layered record that pays homage to pioneers of funk, soul, rap, house and disco.

Africa Today News, New York

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *